Skip to content

Shots that appeal to you

June 25, 2011

T h i s   P h o t o

The best advice about photography I’ve ever heard is to take and keep the photos at appeal to you. During the process of discovering photography we are exposed to many technically superior images used as examples and it is easy to begin to copy a style as opposed to learn a technique. Learn the rules but also learn when to break them.

    I saved this shot (taken by my wife) because it appeals to me. It’s just an exposure test shot she took to get an idea of the light. The shutter speed is too slow to stop motion, hence the subject (me) is blurred, that’s a no no. I have light poles growing out of my head, also a no no. Lens was not shaded resulting in significant lens flare, usually a no no. Blah blah blah…

W h y   I   S a v e d   I t 

   This shot just happened to be in front of a makeshift memorial for a young man who unfortunately jumped to his death at this spot recently, this serves to remind me that each day’s a blessing and to live each day. As for the blurry subject, I have been feeling a little blurry lately so that’s appropriate. The pole growing out of my head ? I believe it is a conduit, ever since this shot was taken I have been in direct telepathic communication with Oprah.

W h y   I    P o s t e d   I t

   Although the reasons this shot escaped the recycle bin are important only to me, I posted it because it happens to illustrate a number of  unique ways the camera sees a scene that our eyes may not.

    1. Vapor discharge lights (some street lamps, stadium lights etc.) will cast a blue/green light on the scene.(see the sidewalk behind me). This may not be apparent to your eye, but will show up in your shot.
    2. Mixed types of lights (street or stadium) may all appear basically white to your eye but record differently (street lights in this shot)
    3. Shooting into a strong light source, especially if it is in the frame, can result in lens flare artifacts of many shapes and colors (not always just the shape of your aperature).
    4. The average length of  head/tail light tracers at highway speeds for a 1/4 sec. exposure is shown by the red streaks in front of me.
    5. If you shoot (esp Westerly) about 1/2 hour or so after sunset at twilight, you will get a beautiful blue sky that will be more vivid in the image than by the naked eye. That’s why this time is called the blue hour. This will show up even if it’s cloudy.

S u b s e q u e n t   P o s t s

   Less pontification, more chaos! Although I’m a well known (20 Facebook friends) photographer and my gear  is the shizzle, I will post shots from my 7 year old point and shoot whenever practical..just to prove David duChemin right “Gear is good..Vision is better”.

$$$$$$$$$$$$

   Tell everyone you know about this blog! Dust off the camera, join in on the mayhem, post your results in my comment section! We’re gonna make a fortune!

From → Ramblings

4 Comments
  1. Kate permalink

    Good grief…such a pontificater!

    • Why thank you Kate. Yes , I learned pontification from my beloved sister. She lives in the woods and pontificates standing atop tree stumps. She is usually dressed like Mother Nature on the old Par-Kay commercials, oh what a site! A true inspiration!

      • Kate permalink

        And where are the shots of your beloved sister? She must be beautiful!

      • Thanks for asking Kate. she’s a real looker. As a matter of fact I’ll be posting some shots of her in an upcoming post “Shots from the Barnyard”.

Leave a Reply

