Skip to content

Focal Review

July 27, 2011

.

   Get the discomfort bag ready…here are three shots. One for each focal length category : wide-angle / normal / telephoto and the reasons I selected each particular focal length.

.

.

Here I wanted to show “Mr. Fluffy” in his environment (Starbucks) and take advantage of perspective distortion for a more interesting shot, so I chose a Wide-Angle focal length (16mm).

.

.

For this backlit shot of Kida I wanted a natural looking perspective with some depth in the background so I chose a Normal focal length (65mm). Technically the normal designation is usually 40 – 58mm.

.

.

To enlarge the subject (bubble girl) in relation to the bubbles that were in the near foreground, I chose a Telephoto focal length (335mm).  Also, if I were to get close enough to use a Normal or Wide-Angle lens I would not get as many bubbles in the shot.

.

.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

